misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Spider web pt. 2

Since early spring a spider has taken up residence behind the driver's side mirror of my car door. I would rarely see her because she might be lurking just outside on the mirror's edge, as soon as she spotted me she would pull back inside her dark space. She went on many trips with me and logged hundreds of miles.
She was a small, silvery grey creature who did not weave those circular webs so common with garden spiders. Hers are more like nets that she spins each night.
Early in the morning the net is done and ready for visitors.
Once, while I was driving home I looked out and saw her all the way at the end of her web. It was mostly destroyed from the wind and also I always pulled a lot off so I could see in the mirror. I was so concerned for her that I slowed down and pulled over to the side of the road. Then she quickly raced back into the safe house.
The next morning a full web had been spun again.
I have never seen her catch anything except most recently leaves fall from the maple tree overnight onto her web. I have parked outside this summer so she has enjoyed an outdoor life. For the past three days I have stayed home without driving at all.
This morning I took this photo. You can see the range of web building she's been doing when undisturbed-- up the side of the rood jam and down the side of the door. Her web easily holds leaves.
As I was taking different angles of this web I noticed something like a wasp or bee near the spider's front door. It was bright yellow-green. I approached to get a better look only to be surprised to see it was the spiders round rear end. She has certainly grown rounder and more colourful.
But soon as she saw me she went through a kind of tube that she has woven like a entrance to her house. I do not have the kind of lens or camera to get a picture of that, but this elaborate one with a small reflected self-portrait gives you an idea of her work.
When the weather gets colder and frosty the car will go back into the garage. I am not sure what the spider is going to do then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.