Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Getting Gas-ed!

For most people this is such a similar-every-few-days event. Right? Right!
Not for me.

Mr. Fun has always, I don't know why, filled my car with gasoline. So I feel like such an idiot when my car, affectionately known as "Snow White," needs fuel.

Last week at the end of our vacation, when I had had an over-the-top, I'm-done-now, I-gotta-go-home experience and Mr. Fun graciously, well almost graciously said, "Take the car and go home." So I did that on Wednesday. Then he pedaled his bicycle home--38 miles--and got his car and took it and his bike back to the vacation home. No biggie--I had my car.

Then I realized it was low on gas; it was on fumes. So I just told myself it didn't matter that I had come home because I wanted to be home, so I wouldn't go anywhere in the car.

Then Thursday he telephoned and said he missed me and wanted me to come back. So I knew that saying "Yes! I'll come back" meant that I'd have to put gasoline in Snow White's tank. With fear and trepidation I drove to the Chevron station and faking expertise I inserted my credit card, took it out, lifted the nozzle, placed it in the filler, and began pumping gas. I was so proud of myself. Until . . .

Until I realized that I had lifted the most expensive of the 3 types of gas and the computer screen on the gas pump was tallying-up dollars faster than anything I had ever seen. So the "A" I thought I was earning on filling the tank, immediately slipped to a lower score. Then I got over it and told myself, "It's only money!" and I drove to Huntington Beach where I laughed with Mr. Fun about the whole stupid experience.

This evening while we were out and about (and I was needing a blip photo), he took me and Snow White to the gas station and had me top up the tank. This time I got the right priced nozzle.

That's my true confession for this day. What a gas!
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Most of you missed the very best photo from our vacation (probably because I backblipped it a day late). It's the Pacific Ocean up close and personal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.