A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Cedar Rock House by Frank Lloyd Wright

He may have lacked morals. He may have made mistakes in his personal life. He may not have been well liked but he was respected for his designs and many are still attracted to his life work. I am.

On my way home from our friend's lake house in north central Iowa, I stopped to tour the Cedar Rock House in Independence, Iowa. I wanted to move in. It is extraordinary. I've visited several of his homes, including his homes: Taliesin, Spring Green, Wisconsin and Oak Park. But this one struck me as one of his finest works. I liked the fact that it is in tact as it was left by the only owners and occupants, the Walters.

The rest of my drive toward home was pretty much me chasing the tornado...or it chasing me, I haven't decided yet. No worries, it was a near miss and got my adrenalin flowing really good.

You gotta love living in a place with a natural disaster that you can race right past. Try that with an earthquake or hurricane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.