TallSarah

By TallSarah

Football

Whenever possible, my daughter, husband and I make out way up to see non league AFC Fylde play a game at their ground near Blackpool.

I didn't really get involved with football when I was younger. Girls didn't play it and dads didn't take their daughters as a lot of fans threw things (inc. fists) at each other back in the 70s.

I didn't get the football bug until I went to work at Sheffield Wednesday FC in 1987 for placement as part of my degree. Then it got in my blood and for most of the 90s I had a season ticket. I had to stop after my daughter was born as a fortnightly trip across the Pennines isn't that practical with a baby.

Then, I started going clubbing again but that's another story.....

My dad started going to see Fylde after he moved up here from Coventry about 10 years ago and a few years ago we started to join him.

Non league is great - all the things that you'd expect, just smaller.

Today, we played Ashton Utd in the FA Cup second qualifying round.

Don't expect any stato style comment from me. We were rubbish, we lost.

So, we 're not going to win the FA Cup this year.

Perhaps we'll win the league.

COME ON YOU COASTERS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.