NellyO

By NellyO

Wellingborough Museum

In between visits to and from relatives we had some spare time so I persuaded mum and dad to take me to the local museum. It was opened in 2007, long after I left home, and I'd never been before. It was a real treasure trove, lots of blasts from the past, and we spotted dad's cousin in several photos. It was very interesting to see all sorts of things, from finds from local archeological digs to a reconstruction of old shops. This is an old advertisement for the local rag, which is still going, if not from strength to strength, at least it still exists although I don't think it's a daily any more. I bought a few information sheets about the town's old history - I can't believe I lived there so long, and most of my family have been around the area for donkeys years, but there's so much I didn't know anything about (like the Great Fire, 250 years ago). I did vaguely know about the Diggers in Wellingborough, after the English Civil War in the 1650s, but it's good to find out a bit more. I can't believe we weren't taught about this at school! (maybe we were and I wasn't listening, but I'm sure I'd have remembered that!).

The museum is free to visit, and is staffed and run by volunteers, who do a brilliant job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.