A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Festival

Just had a wonderful day out in Lanark at the Scottish Smallholders and Growers Festival.

These are Hebridean sheep. I was really sad to discover that breeders are trying to breed out the four horns and have only two, even though the breed originally had four. The owners of these sheep always end up last in class and get this, even in the Best Horns competition did not even get selected for a prize! How can you not pick these as best horns? The winner was a two-horned Heb. A beautiful sheep but not my idea of a Hebridean.

I also got to try milking a goat which was brilliant. I managed with my left hand but just couldn't do it with my right. Made me feel much more confident about goats though and the lady suggested it might be better to milk from the other side.

There were pigs, chickens, ducks, geese, cows, goats, alpacas, bees and sheep all there. I just had a brilliant time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.