WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Not perfect

... but the best yet. The sourdough experiments continue. Part of the problem is that most sourdough recipes you find on the web use American or British flour. French flour is clearly different, so I'm slowly edging towards a workable recipe, taking copious notes as I go. This one rose better than the last one, but still not quite as high as I would like.

The weather is miserable here -- we've had an Irish mizzle all day. A good day to cook a roast chicken for dinner, served with gravy made from the roasting juices and potatoes roasted in duck fat. Then we ate a slice of my new loaf with some aged Comté, critiquing as we chewed. "Could have done with 10 minutes more in the oven." "Maybe I didn't work it enough when I kneaded it." "The flavour's good though!" "Nice open crumb." The Great British Bake Off has nothing on us!

Hoping for an outdoor blip tomorrow, but the forecast is not good :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.