My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Unknown.......

...........Saw this old tombstone in the Graveyard at St Nicholas' Church, Normanton. It is a redundant Anglican church in Normanton-on-Cliffe, Lincolnshire. It is designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building, and is under the care of the Churches Conservation Trust and stands beside the road between Grantham and Lincoln. I took this picture because I liked all the moss and lichen that had grown on it over the years and because it looked as if it might be of someone important with the sort of giant key motif carved on top. The man who was mowing the grass had no idea - although he has been doing the job for 19 years! There was nothing in the literature at all about it - there was the war grave of a Royal Field Artillery soldier of the First World War mentioned but this looked much too old to be that. The “Grass” man didn't know about that either! So, sorry, I can tell you no more at the moment!

I may be turning into more of a "fruitcake" than I am already - Anni bought me apples, pears and plums from their garden yesterday and a neighbour brought apples and pears this morning just as I got home. She came in for coffee and we got talking about useful improvements to everyday things in the home - sparked off by her mentioning the saying " the best thing since sliced bread". It made me wonder what other folk considered to be the best, fairly recent, innovation that has come in - say over the last 30 or 40 years. Am not revealing my choice at the moment - what do you think? Perhaps a Blip of it!!

A very sunny morning but very windy - Temperature at 56 Deg. F.

Hope you are having a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.