MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Turkey Shoot

This is the first but won't be the last turkey pic I post since the removal of an old tank revealed their barn to me. The arrival of the chicks in summer, heralded by their cheeping, always pulls me up short. I have been able to hear them from the shed in which I keep my car but have never been able to see them before. What is more, they have never had a view.

I don't buy my Christmas turkey from this farm, preferring to choose one from a free range flock in the village. I do think it is important to look one's bird in the eye.

I think that daily visits from me weet-weeting and interacting with them accompanied by my dog might enrich these birds' short lives.

This is a very grainy image of a bird that looks a bit scared with its, seemingly, down-turned expression. I think it speaks volumes.

Hope to get a better vantage point with better light next time I shoot the turkeys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.