AlexanderSupertramp

By AlexW

Father

My dad in his 80's, and not as mobile as he once was. In saying that, it would be hard, as he ran a half marathon every day and rode his bike hundreds of klm's just for recreation....

Born in Wigan, England in the 1930's, he has seen world wars, depressions along with the good times. Father to 3 and grandfather to 7, he has created quite a legacy.

He emigrated from England in 1965, to Sydney, with a young wife and 2 children under 2 years of age... It always amazed me how much courage that would have taken. No family or infrastructure to come to. Somehow he must have thought it was in the best interests of his young family. I couldn't imagine moving mine a suburb let alone the other side of the globe.

Anyway, he still has an infectious laugh, doesn't think too much of my efforts with Blip, and is chipping off my inheritance at an alarming rate!
( as I tell him regularly )

So here's to you father, you've been a terrific kind hearted man.
Now go easy on the $300 merino jumpers...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.