Russian Dolls

It seemed apt to have this face on his last day in Southport with me. Going to miss him, but don’t feel sorry for me…I’m seeing him again on Saturday when I go to his parents for his late 21st family birthday party. I didn’t really have much time to take this photograph, but I wanted something from the restaurant, and I wanted one of him. The only problem being that the restaurant in question was The Barking Frog, and the service was so prompt that I had only just got the camera out before the first course came! I think this photograph is an example of event over getting something perfect. But I don’t care, I’m not going to let food go cold while getting a photograph perfect.

So, yes, we went for lunch at The Barking Frog. As I haven’t found its equivalent anywhere near university, I was making the most of being able to go! After a morning watching Black Books and Les Poupées russes, packing and just generally spending time together, Thom and I headed to the restaurant. We’d decided to go as Thom was heading back to Leicester later that day and was going straight to a pub crawl so it was 50/50 to whether or not he would have a chance to eat. And of course it was his last day in Southport! I think he actually enjoyed the two French films more than he thought he would, although the main character is a bit of a hard character to like shall I say…and Thom really did not like him!

Feels strange not to have him here again once more. At least it isn’t long before I see him again!



One of my favourite quotes from said film:-


J’ai repensé à toutes les filles que j’avais connu, avec qui j’avais couché ou même que j’avais seulement désiré. Je me suis dit qu’elles étaient comme des poupées russes. On passe sa vie entière à jouer à ce jeu. On est curieux de savoir qui sera la dernière, la toute petite qui était caché depuis le début. On ne peut pas l’attraper directement, on est obligé de suivre le cheminement. Faut les ouvrir l’une après l’autre en se demandant à chaque fois « est-ce que c’est elle la dernière ? ».

I thought about all the girls I had known, with whom I had slept with or even those that I had only desired. I thought to myself that they were like Russian dolls. We pass our whole lives playing this game. We're curious to know who will be the last, the tiniest that was hidden from the beginning. You can not find it directly, you have to follow the path. You must open one after the other, asking yourself each time "is she the last? "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.