Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

All Change!

I have a gadget addiction, I admit it. In recent years I have had many, many cameras... (deep breath) at least four Sony compacts and a Sony NEX mirrorless, a Nikon SLR and three Canon SLRs, several Canon PowerShots and Ixuses (Ixi?), a Pentax Optio and a Pentax Q, a Leica X1 and now I've fallen in love with Fuji.

A couple of weeks ago I took possession of a Fujifilm X-E1 to see if it could replace my Canon 650D as my main 'serious' camera. And it has. It's smaller, more stylish (hey, that's important) and so far produces better images than the Canon, certainly with the Canon lenses I could afford anyway. So the Canon and its lenses are up for sale, and a mate has already offered to take them off my hands (thanks Marco!).

Which would have left me with the Fuji X-E1 and my Leica X1. Except... now the Leica is smaller than the X-E1, but not by a huge amount. Which made me wonder whether I'd get much use out of the Leica in the future... which made me think: what I really need* (*want) is a really small, pocketable camera that's capable of pretty good image quality. And so I ordered a refurbished Fuji XF1, in a similar retro style to its big brother but fits in a jeans pocket. And here it is! Very pleased with image quality so have decided to keep it.

Now, don't get me wrong: I LOVE the Leica, and I'm really glad I had one. But it's time to pass it on to someone who'll get more use out of it. The image quality is exceptional, it really is, but I can't justify keeping three cameras and the Leica is the one that I can see being left at home the most. It's also the most expensive, so selling it will help to fund some lenses/accessories for the Fuji siblings... :-)

So: the Leica will be going on eBay. Might blip it one last time before it goes...



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.