tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Unwilling visitor

I got home after being out all day, gave the cats their tea and went to go upstairs when I was arrested by the sight of this bird scrabbling at the door. It crouched motionless when I approached and I was able to scoop it up and enclose it in a hat. It appeared to be uninjured, just shocked.

It's a water rail, related to coots and moorhens; not uncommon in marshy land but very shy and secretive, slipping through the reeds with a streamlined body, mottled brown plumage blending into the background.

I took it down to the swampy field where these birds lurk and released it into its habitat. Checking later, I could see no sign of it. Why the cats had not harmed it I can't imagine. The culprit gave herself away when I played the audio clip of its call : Nest jumped up on the table to find the source of the sound. With her amazing camouflage coat it's not surprising she's a consummate hunter.

Although one's enthusiasm for cats can falter when they reap their harvest of wildlife, I was somewhat surprised to find that this gentle little bird can also turn predatory when circumstances dictate. According to this water rails are known to attack wrens and other birds by spearing and impaling them with their beaks. Nature, red in tooth and claw indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.