EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

Guess Who Came to Dinner!

Remember a few weeks ago when I put up a blip of the American Beauty berries growing near our front porch? Well, this afternoon, to our amazement, we looked out and there were not one but FOUR young deer in our yard, just a few feet from the porch, helping themselves to the Beauty berries -- or at least, their leaves.

We were standing just inside the front door, awestruck. Even my mother, who has lived here 40+ years had never seen deer inside the rocks surrounding the front yard as you can see that they are.

I took the picture through the window -- there was no way we could have opened the door -- they would have been gone in a flash. I took about a dozen photographs and a video before they noticed us and decided it was time to go. But they still left reluctantly.

This one I was about to label "fashionista" because she looked like a fashion model to me. But then -- we noticed the antlers -- this is a very young buck. I don't know if it is the buck I've seen in the woods -- this one seems even younger and thinner -- but his antlers are about the same size, so it could be...

There were four of them that we could count. This one, another one right inside the front yard, a darker colored one just beyond the rocks and a fourth one that was with him.

I've not been on here the last few nights -- just overly tired -- but I will post photos from those days as soon as I have a chance. As usual, all your blips are an inspiration and a challenge to me.

My Mom still has Shingles -- they can last months or longer -- but she is much, much better. She still has the Drop Foot but thinks there is a slight bit of movement in her toes that wasn't there before. She is still doing physical therapy and taking B-12 and has gained -- not enough by any means, but at least a couple of pounds. Her wrist is still in a splint but isn't swollen any more and isn't bothering her as much.

Thank you so much, each and every one of you who have left such positive and encouraging comments. I know I have been hit and miss in who I have commented and starred and thanked for their comments and stars -- due to tiredness and fluctuations in energy. But I love you all and appreciate EVERY SINGLE ONE OF YOU -- and every single comment and star means a great deal to me.. I hope to get to a more consistent response soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.