A Day in My Life ~ George

By GRKunschman

Sunrise on Lake Monroe

Since it has been raining every late afternoon, early evening, I got out of the house early this morning to watch the sun rise. I am a early riser, but a very slow mover when I do arise.

Coffee in hand I headed down the road. I did not make the location I wanted to visit, but thankfully Lake Monroe is so close. I don?t want you all think I was walking, remember slow mover, so it was not a far drive.

Once there, I sat on the edge of the bulkhead, sipping my coffee, listening to the quietness. I was keeping an eye for the perfect opportunity to get my best shot of the sun breaking the horizon, being distracted every once in awhile of a fish breaking water as it was feeding. I watched a sailboat not far in the distance that appeared to be tied off to another that had sunk. I thought it was just moored, but then I saw someone on deck. On the extension of the bulkhead, a Ibis (maybe a heron) was chasing others from his territory. A jogger, and some walkers passing by exchanged good morning greetings. Such a peaceful, gorgeous morning.

Then it happened! The sun broke the horizon, and like the shuttle blasting off for it?s launch pad, it was shining so bright!

I was out of coffee so it was time to go. As I drove along, I seen a lone gator, just the eyes breaking the water. I thought what a beautiful place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.