NASUWT/NUT Rally - Norwich

Over 300 people turned out this lunchtime in support of striking teachers to attend a rally in the centre of Norwich. We are really lucky that we have the Forum (the central public library) which has a large space in front of it, with steps for people to sit on, that is used on a weekly basis for entertainment, promotional events and demonstrations.

The crowd was made up of teachers, parents, students, young people and elders. We heard from several speakers: trade union representatives, teachers, parents, a representative of the Norfolk People's Assembly and from Myhren, a high school student who you see here.

Myhren is the daughter of one of my friends and, although still in her teens, has great political awareness. Early this morning I read on Facebook that the organisers of the rally were still looking for a young person to speak. So, I immediately sent a text to my friend suggesting Myhren. The response came back quickly: 'Thanks! We'll have a chat about it. See you at lunchtime?'

At lunchtime I was there. And heard Myhren speak. Eloquently and from the heart. At one point both myself and her mum were crying with pride. And we noticed a couple of others were too. Particularly when the crowd started cheering and shouting their encouragement to her.

More of my photos of the rally can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.