Rodents rule

By squirk

Unexpected fun

A sociable day in the local area. Fi came round for a chat and a walk in the sun, then Fred and I met Si at a local pub where a summer party was taking place. It was great fun - banjo players singing 'Ace of Spades', some nail-biting games of table football (with a referee of three years old, who also kept score for Si), then we watched Nigel Burch and the Flea Pit Orchestra. It was this band that we'd come to see, mainly because the tuba player, Oren Marshall, was the guy who supported Moby many days ago at the Royal Festival Hall. Si and I were tempted to dance, but we kept our shy feet on the floor. At the end of the gig, Si went up to talk to the lead singer (to apologise for not dancing) and that gave me the courage to approach Oren Marshall and tell him how much Fred and I enjoyed his performance at the Moby gig. I got a hug for that and a grin. I'll look out for him playing around London - he lives in south London so perhaps there will be more local gigs.

After Nigel Burch, a swing band came on with a host of swing dancers who really knew how to move. The pub holds swing classes every Monday. Tempted? Possibly... I'll get my dancing shoes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.