ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

The Halfpenny Bridge

As I stood tonight and watched the Lowry matchstick people cross the Halfpenny Bridge I thought of my friend fighting her demons earlier today by her own river striving to ease her broken heart...
This iconic bridge in Dublin was central to most of my life having crossed in on a daily basis for over forty years.......
Now I just pay social visits.... I remember the pissoirs in the 50s, the Guinness barges steaming below delivering dreams to the diaspora in London, Birmingham, Manchester and Liverpool....The painkiller to ease the loneliness of a bedsit far from the home farm......and with the Celtic Tiger skinned for it's pelt we can swap the towns of England for the mining towns of Oz, the American prairies and the oil fields of Canada....just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.