Scribbler

By scribbler

Doubly crisp

Dan with apple and salute at Dishman Community Center.

CRISP is the challenge topic.


Dan is a volunteer at Portland Parks & Rec. He does things like help people in wheelchairs in and out of their vehicles. He was at Dishman for years, and then one day he wasn't.

Dan and I had a salute shtick going. I'd like to say he started it, but knowing how silly I can be, it's equally possible that I did. At any rate, it was great fun and went on for a long time. Eventually I learned that he was working at another community center.

Then a week or two ago, Dan suddenly reappeared at Dishman. And much to my delight, as soon as he saw me, he saluted! Now we've reinstituted our little game, trying to see if I can sneak up on him before he salutes.

This morning I awoke to the sound of rain. We have been pommeled with endless storms. Portland used to get a fine steady drizzle in the rainy season. Now we get blown sideways and drowned. My first thought as a loyal blipper was, "Crikey! Nothing is crisp in this weather!" What could I possibly come up with for today's challenge?

Then at the pool I ran into Dan, and he saluted me with a rather crisp salute. "There it is," I thought. I asked him to pose for me, which he cheerfully did, holding the apple he'd been munching in his other hand. At first I balked, but then I realized that apples are crisp also.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.