Grande Dame*

It's amazing how long it takes to replant two pots that are right outside the back door. That was my mission for the day.

First a trip to the nursery was needed to get something to replace the tired looking plants that were in the pots.

Then I had to find my gloves and clippers. Not in the box on the upper terrace. Not in the garage on the lower level. Finally found them in the pump house. Clippers in hand (and gloves on hands) I got sidetracked by the long dead shoots needing removing from the plants outside the bedroom door.

The dirt in the pots was full of roots, so I had to find a trowel. Not in the pump house. Not in the garage. Finally found it in the box on the upper terrace.

We have four pairs of clippers, three trowels and I have two pairs of gloves. Whay are they always in the wrong place?

Once planted, the pots needed more dirt. The dirt is in the huge dirt pile carried down through the back lot by the gardeners to our upper terrace--I guess I shouldn't complain about going up the stairs for one bucketful.

The plants around one of the pots also had long dead shoots. In fact, there are long dead shoots on lotsbof plants around here--never noticed how many.

I made two trips down the stairs to empty the buckets of shoots I cut off and the plants I pulled out.

I watered in the new plants and coiled up the hose (something OilMan never does. Never takes the hint when I do it either).

There are leaves in my hair. There is dirt on my face. A small inchworm is crawling up my laptop toward the keyboard....

*She is one of many is in the MacDonald neighborhood which is on the way to the nursery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.