BearRabbitFrog

By BearRabbitFrog

homage

This evening at Z's football game I fell into an old habit. You see, when I was just about his age and playing soccer, it was the foliage that drew my attention, not the match at hand. More than a few times I was startled to attention by sport-minded players rushing by my full-back post, scoring. More than a couple times my folks might have shouted, "Angie! Watch the ball!!!" More than not, I was the last kid sent in to the game. Skill in still, meditative focus isn't exactly prized, game winning stuff. No matter. There were tiny field daisies and buttercups to spy. And blades of grass that spring back from the mud where they had been recently trampled. Wasn't that a ladybug? So, an old habit. Only, 28 years later, having a camera somehow legitimizes preoccupation with the non-game world, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.