Windows into my Life

By Tessa

Mount Taranaki reflected at the Pouakai Tarns

We did our first over night tramp up the Mountain to the Pouakai Hut. We Had 6 adults and 6 children with us. It is one of the hardest walks I have attempted and my kids got to the hut 1 hour before us slow pokes, I wish I had just half their energy!
So after a very strenuous day everyone was in bed pretty early. My husband woke me at 6am to get up for sun rise and I nearly didn't go because my muscles were very stiff but Im so glad I did. This sunrise was hands down the prettiest thing I have ever seen.The tarns was a 1km walk from the hut but again I was so glad I went.
The Pouakai Tarns is a very common spot for keen photographers but I couldn't find a Blip with a quick search. It was a hard decision to pick this shot as I know there are many pictures like it around and I got one amazing photo of what looked like a sea of blue clouds stretching out to the horizon just before the sun came up but since this is such an iconic New Zealand spot I decided it had to be this one.
In two days I have walked at least 12 km half of which was up 2000 stairs (yes you read that right 2000 evil nasty Stairs) wearing an extremely heavy overnight pack. Im exhausted but despite how hard it was I want to go tramping when ever I can. A car will never get you this type of view only your 2 feet will.

Even better

Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.