Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

Digging up the spuds

Owing to my incapacity the lot of digging up the spuds fell to Susan, which I know she enjoyed immensely. I was able to contribute a little by hoeing the plot by holding the tool in one hand and supporting myself by the crutch with the other arm.

Unfortunately the potato harvest was not as good as we'd hoped and Susan speared a few too. We think the weather was too dry as the tops died off too soon. The early potatoes were good though.

Susan went back in the afternoon to put spuds into a sack and bring back some calabrese, beetroot, cavelo nero and yet more courgettes. At least they've grown well. She did a good job and it was much appreciated.

I found today increasingly difficult, couldn't settle to anything and becoming frustrated by the immobility. I did make a tarte tatin though from our apples. Used the recipe from the Great British Bake Off book, cooking the tarte in a frying pan as was done originally. The tarte was assessed as excellent by the hard working Susan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.