Showtime

I carted my paintings to the library exhibit room this morning. I did a mock up and figured out where I want to hang each one, then took them down. T & G and I will go back tonight. We'll measure, straighten and hopefully stabilize the swing of the frames on those ceiling hooks with the silicone bumper spots on the frame bottom corners. I bough some at the frame shop., but I order my frames online and do the wires, etc. myself.

For the Record,
This day came in cool and quickly warmed to the low 80s with bright sun. Lovely weather.

Fifteen years ago today we and our beloved home suffered a catastrophic oil spill(not our fault) at the hands of our oil company. My grandparents had used them since the late 1920s and they turned out to be real lowlife bums. The 275 plus(they never would reveal the true amount) spillage changed our lives for 11 months and beyond. Web lived 11 months in a 60ft mobile home in our driveway. The house was raised just a bit on cribbing while they removed 15 feet of oil and soil from underneath and around. It was a nightmare, every moment was fraught with some new impending and impossible to imagine calamity. We actually rode out an autumn hurricane in the mobile home with the help of lots of wine and friends. When all was said and done, we changed to gas heat. Now as a friend then said, we just have to wear parachutes to bed. We spent those months fighting tooth and nail to save our house and belongings. We outlasted the blunderers who were not going to let uppity women maintain control of a terrifying tangled mess. In the end, at great legal expense, we saved Dogcorner and came away stronger. I wish I didn't remember it all like the horror film that it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.