The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

St Marys Church - Petworth

I only had to work for a couple of hours today cleaning up after Open evening, so I was back home by half ten!
Mr U&L and I took advantage of this and decided to go on a little tripette to the pretty Sussex town of Petworth.
I drive through Petworth and it's interesting one way system often on my way to and from Iping Common, and every time I admire the church clock tower, which can be seen from many vantage points as you drive through.
Today we managed to park in the Market square and walk straight up Lombard street to the church which is where this picture was taken.
As you can see the brick tower is a recent addition to a much older building, and did once have a spire which was removed when it became unsafe in the 50's Whilst some think it makes for a very ugly building, I think the blend of red brick with the original mellow stone is actually quite pleasing.
I hope you will enjoy my winter trips around some of the Sussex villages, I did photograph 2 more churches today, and I will attempt to put them into my blipfolio for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.