APPLES

Was picked up at 9am this morning by my friend Jan and I was expecting to go straight to Asda. However we had to go over to Newcastle to her mother in law D's - to check on her ( she has Alzheimer's ) and walk her dog. Since Jan's husband retired he has been doing this morning visit but he couldn't make it today as he has hurt his leg.

I decided not to stay and chat with D but to go with Jan on the dog walk - thought the exercise would do me good. We had been going for about 10 mins when it began to rain heavily. I wasn't dressed for rainy weather - no hood on my coat, no brolly and the wrong shoes. I was like a drowned rat when I got back to D's. I dried my hair with a towel but could do nothing about my wet shoes and socks. Then we went to Asda - which was packed and had big queues at the checkouts. They kept calling over the tannoy for " queue busters " who seemed very reluctant to turn up. In the end the announcement actually named 4 members of staff who had to take their places on the checkouts. By the time I got served these 4 still hadn't made an appearance.

Finally got home at 1pm. First thing I did was get my wet shoes and socks off and put on some lovely warm socks and slippers .... and then I put the heating on.

Just had a quiet afternoon and evening. Cats have slept most of the day as they aren't keen on going out in the rain. Lily was trying to find a warm spot and in the end she snuggled up behind my back while I was sitting at the computer - jammed in between me and the chair. I had to be careful not to lean back and squash her.

I had no idea what to blip today so I looked on the Forum to see what the challenge for today was............... it was APPLES. As I had bought apples at Asda I decided to use them for my blip.

The oval lustre bowl they are in belonged to my late father in law. It was made by Maling who were a local North East pottery factory which existed between 1762 and 1963. My father in law had no connections with this area so it was a surprise to find a piece of local pottery when we cleared out his house after he died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.