InkNarrative

By InkNarrative

Memorial of Oulu-born poet V.A Koskenniemi. His poem "On suuri sun rantas autius" was composed by Leevi Madetoja. Song is still today quite popular choral work for female voices all over the world. For some reason the song is normally sung in finnish.

http://youtu.be/Sp60G4ROwik

Here an unofficial translation:

Great Is The Desolation of Your Shore

Great is the desolation of your shore, but at least I miss it:
How a wild duck's wailing sounds in a bed of reeds at night
Someone lonely, lost, who groans of chill,
Someone who has wandered in a bed of reeds and can't find mother

I have watched your grey wave with tears,
Has cried its first sorrow on your shore, my own youth
Your picture has sunk deep and I miss that,
I have listened to a wild duck there for many nights

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.