NYRose

By NYRose

Memorial

It is national poetry day today and this years them is water. I went out with the dog aiming to take a picture of one of the streams or waterfalls but came across this little Gravestone under the bridge telling of how a 16 year old boy drowned at that spot in 1908. I had just also come across a bunch of red carnations scattered by the waters age presumably a tribute to someone else for whom this was a special place.

I wanted to find a poem to go with the picture but many of the ones combining loss and water relate to the sea. Here is another one which I liked about water.

A Book of Water
By Jacob Polley

I bought a book of water
It's covers bound in weed
It's spine of muscled silver
It's words to quick to read

I bought a book of water
I wouldn't buy again
It's one page read disorder
It's letters tall as rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.