Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

September Snowfalls

Yesterday I came home from work and walked into a Halloween Party thrown a month early and I was a little overwhelmed by the effort my Mum and Sister had gone to to celebrate an event I won't be in the UK to celebrate this year. It turned out that yesterday was just the pre-cursor to an even bigger surprise

I emerged from my bedroom and stumbled bleary eyed into the lounge to find something slightly out of place, a Santa toy slouched on the top of the television. A glance to my left brought the image of a stocking swimming into view, sat in place by the fire. I poked my head into the kitchen and was greeted with Christmas music and a laden table complete with crackers and the chicken slowly bathing in the herb and spice bath we prepare every christmas eve. Christmas had come early to Cheshire this year!

I could hardly find the words and I fear I still can't. Its not a huge gesture, a family day celebrated with food and good company can occur at any time of the year, but the fact that Mum and Camilla had put in such effort to try and celebrate what is my favourite holiday season (and my sisters) really drove home just how special my family is and how much I'm going to miss them. Sure, I've done a year away from them before whilst living in Barcelona, but a quick jaunt on a ryanair flight is a little different to a longhaul flight across the globe.

The day passed in a blur of merryment, some of it ably assisted by alcohol, as we went through all of our normal traditions; watching the Grinch with my sister, christmas breakfast, a big spread with the family and then a game sat in from of the TV. Of course it was cracking the flags outside but that didn't matter.

Such an incredible day and I can only thank my family for doing it for me. I wish I could properly elucidate my feelings, but safe to say I had a smile on my face the whole day

------


The day was very happily topped off by a trip to Sheffield to see Micky Flanagan with Lou. Hilarious evening of comedy, check him out if he is on a TV screen near you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.