alisonfedup

By alisonfedup

Tracing paper day

I had an appointment this morning so found myself driving to work later than usual when I pulled over to remove a leaf from my windscreen wiper. I pass the Carlisle Monument on Bulmer Hill every day and decided to take a quick blip this morning.

I took a couple of minutes to look around and realised it was a tracing paper day as my father would have said. These are days that are a bit like the old tomes with colour plates covered with tracing type paper, we spent many happy hours making our own versions as children with felt tips and Izal paper.

Dad used to say the world was a little like the old books, if you just looked at the pictures through the paper it was hard to see all the details but if you took the time to look carefully often you found hidden treasures. It's true you know.

Some days I miss him more than others...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.