stujphoto

By stujphoto

The Cement Works

I was on Barns Ness Beach again this morning and you very nearly suffered yet another blip of the lighthouse. The light was atrocious but not in any way dramatic and I was wandering about taking desultory snaps of rock pools and rather tired beach plants and I don't know what in search of inspiration. Finally I turned my camera towards the cement works.

The Larfarge Cement Works is an institituion in this area providing some employment and much needed steady industry over many decades. The plume of smoke from its cooling tower can be seen for miles around and is a good parameter of exactly how well the building trade is doing currently. The view it presented was rather subdued but with a bit of Photoshop and other software magic I knew I could transform it into a half decent image. Voila !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.