In the city

The HG is off walking today, but I opted out as I was meeting a friend today. However, at the last minute our plans had to be cancelled as M was called for child minding duties due to illness...... these things happen.......

So I decided to go into the city to see the Jack Vettriano Retrospective exhibition at Kelvingrove Art Gallery, as I knew it was not the HG's taste and it was good to do it on my own.

When I got to Glasgow I took the subway over to Kelvin Hall, and walked along Dumbarton road to the art gallery. It was a fine bright day and was very pleasant. Passed the Maggie CEntre, and was tempted to blip my photo of it.

Had a bit to eat in the cafe in the concourse, and listened to the daily organ recital which was lovely, some really nice music. The galleries were very busy, and there were lots of small children running around, the tiled floor is perfect for play.... I can remember it from when I was wee..... and it is the same tiled floor, when they refurbished the building they did not remove it as it is really lovely.

After the recital I headed downstairs to the exhibition. I have to say I am not his greatest fan, but I respect his artistry. I find his work has a great sameness about it, however as he says himself it is instantly recognizable. There are over one hundred works in the exhibition, and they have come from collections around the world. There was also a audio of Jack Vettriano giving us an insight into his work and his thought on his work. That was very interesting.

Had a wee walk along Byres Road in the sunshine afterwards before heading to the subway and the bus home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.