LapsedCanon

By LooseCanon

Southern Right Whale

In Hermanus we saw several whales from our guesthouse as they come right into the bay about 100 metres from the shore.

This one, however was captured from a boat. The weather was brewing up for a storm and there was a large swell running - not the nicest time to be sitting around on a boat. However we got really close to several pods and I rather liked this classic shot. There were also others of the whales breaching (ie jumping out of the sea) which I will put on flickr when we get home.

Our last day in S Africa was cold wet and windy. A bit of a shame. We saw more penguins as we returned to Cape Town airport where I am now sitting.

I am really chuffed to find out that I have got a Staff Pick with my Wilderness Sunset. I have been a bit depressed that I have never got a spotlight but I think this is better :-)

Back to UK tomorrow which will be a bit of a shock to the system. It's spring here and it seemed odd seeing apple blossom yesterday when we know our apple tree at home is loaded with mature fruit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.