Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Parent sprinkling

When my father died nearly four years ago I was reluctant to spread his ashes. Then when my mother died in April I decided to sprinkle them together.

At first I wanted to combine both sets of ashes in one urn, but apparently this is not allowed.

Instead a rather sombre fellow from the Crematorium appeared with two copper urns. Dad was in the rounder one of the two and mum in the thin one. Despite being roughly the same weight when they died dad produced more ashes.

There were six of us present for this event. As I don't live in Macclesfield I was unaware that the Garden of Remembrance is actually a small forest, so spent the first part of the morning trying to find everyone as they were in different parts of the grounds.

The whole process took less than half an hour and we went for a pizza afterwards.

With an offer accepted on the house, things are drawing to an end in Cheshire now.

I shall miss all of my parent's friends and neighbours, if not Macclesfield itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.