Scribbler

By scribbler

Instrument

Sister Theresa OSF on the Feast of St. Francis.

Today is an important day for Franciscans all over the world, since it's the feast of the founder of their religious order. That's why I went to noon mass today, and why I prayed for Theresa and other Franciscan friends. I didn't realize she was there until she called to me as I was exiting St. André Bessette Church. We were happy to see each other! In fact we had just made a date for lunch later in the month. Several hugs were exchanged in the course of our brief interaction.

SOMETHING ON YOUR WISH LIST is the challenge topic.

I had been pondering deeply all morning: What wish shall I blip? I couldn't think of any that I hadn't blipped before, or that wouldn't make an extremely boring picture. Finally as I walked to mass it hit me. My wish was to photograph whatever I wanted! Yay, freedom! I immediately began looking at my surroundings more keenly, noticing things that caught my eye. A whole wall of reflections on a building on W. Burnside. A complex arrangement of antennas on a roof, like a strange undersea creature. I was making mental notes of things to return to when I reached the church door.

But when I saw Theresa's smiling face, all my plans went out the window. "You can be my blip!" I moved her into the sun and immediately she gave me a thumbs-up. Click! I said, "That's the second blip of you like that. What is that thumbs-up about?" She said, "I don't know why I did that." I said, "You're not the only one. Lots of people immediately give me a thumbs-up when I ask to take their picture. I don't know where it comes from." (Blippers, do you know?)

Theresa said, "I could be pious instead," as she clasped her hands in prayer and closed her eyes. We were both shaking with laughter. Can you see the smile she's trying to hide? Click!

Which twin is the devout Theresa? Both!

Which twin is the mischievous Theresa? Both!

Happy St. Francis Day to Sister Theresa and Brother Robert and all Franciscans!

A PRAYER OF ST. FRANCIS

Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace;
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is error, truth;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
And where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master, Grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled, as to console;
To be understood, as to understand;
To be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.


(A 2-snap blip. SOOC, cropped and collaged in Pic Stitch.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.