stujphoto

By stujphoto

Driftwood catching the last of the light...

I have spent quite a bit of time today in opreparation for an exhibition I am putting on with a couple of friends in November, so what with all the last minute manipulation and printing I did not really feel at all motivated to doing yet another image.

I tried to get a photo of the moorhens of the lake, after all I see them practically every day. However, they tend to make off across the pond when I approach with the dogs and my compact for all its massive pixel power can't adequately capture them even if I crop the the image to within an inch of its life. In any case because of their dark plumage and dark eyes they are not the easiest of birds to photograph, especially as I can never capture them with the sun directly on them beacause of the shape of the lake and the dense undergrowth and trees on the western side.

However, I did catch the last of the light falling on a large tree trunk and grasses which are on the edge of the salt marshes in Belhaven Bay. This large piece of driftwood has been there ages and I think it has featured in one of my previous images. For a change I processed this entirely in Nik/Google Viveza which can give you very good control over all the individual elements in the image. The rock in the background is, of course, Bass Rock which tends to feature in almost all East Lothian Coastal views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.