Reflections of Autumn

It's been warm and sunny and dry here, with temperatures at or near 80 degrees F for the past several days. It's weather that, when it comes in October after a cool spell, is often referred to as Indian Summer.

My husband and I set out on yet another foliage-peeping adventure on this day. We headed for Snow Shoe, and did a lovely drive (with stops for a few short hikes) through Sproul State Forest. There's a lot of variation in the autumn foliage, and it's fun to chase the colors. We found them in some places to be at or near peak. What a show!

The past time or two we've driven past this huge culvert along the road, I've cajoled my husband to stop; but we are usually on our way home and don't have the time. On this particular day, though, we did!

And so we both put on our stream-wading shoes and walked into the cool, fresh water. I had my camera with me and headed straight into the culvert, marveling at the shapes and patterns and light ahead of me. But then - oh, then! - I turned around and caught a glimpse of the view that had been BEHIND me all along . . .

And caught my breath! For there in the foliage were all the colors of the rainbow! The world behind me, the world I took for granted: so beautiful that it took my breath away. Oh, sweet autumn, I love you best. Better than all the rest . . .

The soundtrack . . . a little love song from the Doors: Indian Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.