A History of Photography

My first camera was a Kodak Instamatic that took cartridge films. It was completely manual in that I had to decide whether it was Sunny or Cloudy. And the pictures came out with that olde-worlde feel that Instagram and Hipstamatic aspire to. And the pictures often had the bonus of coming back with decorative stickers telling me where I had gone wrong - "Insufficient light", "Keep the camera steady to avoid blurred images" and "Do you call this Composition? This is complete rubbish and you smell".

But my next camera was a Rollei B35 like this. A lovely, little thing - beautifully designed and made. I foolishly swapped it for this - which probably took better pictures but was too big.

Anyway, I have just bought another we Rollei and it is just as nice as I remember. It has lots of little touches designed to make it as small as possible - the hot shoe is on the bottom, the lens retracts into the camera body... It's probably as small as a 35mm camera can go and I think that it is great...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.