Platform One

Stage lights are set,
Diffused in hushed morning mist.
The unsung platform,
Awaits it's hourly dramas,
And departing trains of dreams.


Up very early this morning to accompany Greg driving in to work for 6am. Passing the station I noticed the lights and the mist, so stopped to take some photos.

Platform one is the only platform we have as the track here is single. It always makes me laugh when the announcement says "Platform One for the next train to ...". The train goes down the line to Uckfield, where it terminates, then turns round and goes back up the line to London Bridge.

Village stations are a bit of a refuge and ours is no exception. There is a bookshelf where people can leave books they no longer want, and take books they haven't read. Also there is always a large jigsaw on the go for all to share.

The journey is joy, at least to me, through fields and woodland, passing by other one-stop stations, gradually becoming more and more built up as you get nearer to London. The the London skyline hoves into view with key buildings like the Shard, and the Gherkin standing out like Google map markers. At one point, in a gap between houses, there's a clear view straight across Tower Bridge - I miss the shot every time! I'm sure if I was a regular commuter, this would become mundane and I would have my nose in a book. But as it is I just gaze out of the window and daydream ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.