Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: Ode to autumn X

Of all the seasons, autumn is my favourite. It's a natures way of deliberately showing off. A early morning walk up the garden to the chicken pen becomes a stunning light show. Every dewdrop illuminates like a twinkling fairy light. The sun throws cloaks of shadows across the grassy floor. The foliage outlined in silvery glints.

It's really too much for the eye to take in. You gravitate from one thing to the next, like a child in a sweet shop. It's hard to remain focused on the job in hand. Perhaps its natures way of saying, "stop with all that rushing about and look at me".

I am looking. I am stopping and her light show is the best yet! x



Post note: “Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.” I love George Elliot's description of Autumn, we share the same sentiment.....x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.