Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Little Gardener

An excellent busy day today. I went out for a run (though only 5 km, as my knee was aching a bit); I took the girl up to the hardware shop, with the garden bit, and got seeds and soil for her garden box; while there I also got a hanging pot of cherry tomatoes, and a truss tomato seedling; came home and filled the garden box with the soil and some cow manure, then missy planted her peas, beetroot, and carrots; I pulled up half of the rampant marjoram in the herb garden and planted the tomato seedling in its place - then it was time for lunch. After lunch it was time to plant the basil mrs tsuken had picked up, and then on to the fruit trees: raked off all the mulch; pulled out any encroaching grass; raked in lots of cow manure (packaged by a company called "ANL", which I find almost absurdly amusing xP ); watered it all in; re-mulched.

Here you see missy watering her seeds. Bigger little gardener.

Once upon a time, not very long ago, I would have regarded that as a day which was too busy, leaving me no time for anything. "For what?" one might ask. Why, for ... ummm ... checking social networking sites over and over perhaps. Maybe video games, or watching videos. I'm actually not quite sure, which suggests to me that it perhaps wasn't the best use of all that time I kept available.

Anyways... better now. 8)

I'm really really (really really really) enjoying the K-30, and the Sigma 30mm. Here's a shot of the lad from yesterday which I rather love. The photos I've taken so far with this camera have led me to think again on the importance of gear in photography. I still do believe firmly that the kit is secondary (for example, this, taken with the 2MP camera of an iPhone 3G. is still one of my favourites of the photos I've taken), but there are things that different or better gear enables. A telephoto lens is one very obvious thing - however, if I had had a telephoto lens the day I took that iPhone picture, I wouldn't have trudged out over the mudflats, or at least not so far, and the resulting image would have had a narrower field of view, and also appeared foreshortened, and I don't think it would have been anywhere near as good. Also, better glass and a bigger sensor does lend a particular quality to photos, and in many cases that's a better quality - as I am finding in my photos the last couple of days. But, a bad photo is still a bad photo, whatever it might be taken with - and the converse (or inverse xP ) is of course just as true: a good photo remains a good photo, whatever it's taken with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.