Fforchwen

By fforchwen

Half way

This is the border of the shaded garden, its quite deep and as such has got really messy over the summer. I used one of those new MiracleGro 1kg Flower Magic Flower Seeds 'garden in a jug' things from B&Q. It worked OK, just OK. It instructs you to weed the area which you are sowing onto, this becomes a night mare if you leave it like mine for more than a week as it just seemed to promote rapid grass growth. But I suppose all the flowers came up and I was happy to see something.

This year its different. I didn't know that I could split hosts so that's what I did. Apparently Carol Klein says you cut them like a cake so that's what I did and shared them out more evenly over the garden. One thing that surprised me this year was the amount of crocosmia that appeared and flowered. These were taken from the bottom gate where they rarely got more than 6 inches in height and definitely no flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.