Grandparents

Beneath this stone
Are the remains of
Helen Neilson
spouse of
Tho. Gladstones
Merchant in Leith
Who died July the (?) 1806
Aged 66 years
The remains of the said
Tho.Gladstones
Who died (?) 1809
Aged 76 years
...

I think there are some more remains recorded beneath this, but it gets increasingly hard to read. The tomb was also too high up for me to see what was in the frame - I had my arms fully extended and had to rely on the camera to focus as it wished.

Their son also became a merchant, moved down to Liverpool, dropped the "s" from the end of his name and was made a baronet. His son in turn did even better (or perhaps not) by going into politics and becoming a prime minister, several times.

I had no idea they were buried here until LHRH pointed it out.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.