My Angle

By myangle

Doh!

Not good. I had only just started re-assembling my Land Rover carby today and this happened. See the crack?

I suspect it was already damaged but my screwing up the jet just opened the crack for me to notice. It is not good but I have a solution...

Use some special Araldite glue to repair the crack and then find some copper/brass tubing to "sleeve" it, again gluing it in place.

It is always a bummer when this sort of thing happens. I used to just put things aside a buy a new one. In this case it might be hard to source a 45 year old Solex carby. Finding a kit was hard enough! So I have to invent a solution.

Anyone with a better idea, please, I am open to suggestions.

I need to make sure it is secure because if it does break off in the future it would drop straight into the inlet manifold and from there....crunch.

Well, at least that has given me something to ponder for the next day or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.