Christchurch Cathedral

We made our way from Hanmer, after another lovely bush walk down to Christchurch today. Stopped off to visit my uncle and aunt in Leithfield Beach enroute, and my cousin called over with her son for a catch up while we were there. Really lovely seeing them.

We're staying in an apartment on Gloucester Street, just a hop skip and a jump away from the Red Zone. I honestly thought that Christchurch would be all about having things demolished and rebuilt by this length of time post quake. Quite shocked at how devastated it all still looks. I imagine that any local reading that will shake their head thinking "damned JAFFA with no idea!". Too right! No idea.

There was a kook lecturing in the square, all bigotry and hate speak in the name of God...one local lass stopped next to me and said, "The one good thing about the quake was that these pricks disappeared for a while...I suppose the bright side of him being back is that it shows we're getting back to normal".

Loving the Re:Start mall all made out of shipping containers. Just fab!

We found the greatest wee bar/beer garden which did fantastic tapas and had an amazing range of beers for dinner time. Kids and pets welcome there too. They brought over toys for the girls to play with. I'd definitely recommend going to The Astro Lounge for eats and drinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.