Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Outdated.

Don't know if anybody else saw the article on the news last night about the reclassification / classification of some of the recreational drugs that are currently on the market. I know that there is an enormous social problem related to drug taking in this country, but I'm not sure that pushing everything underground is the way to go. I'm not going to rant on about that though. The arguments have been well rehearsed in other places and I don't need to reiterate them here.

However, I am particularly annoyed with the stupid, sensationalist reporting that accompanied the overall message. What exactly was the lingering close up of burning Joss sticks meant to convey? I know that an older generation of Scots equated these with hippy culture or "worse" - far eastern mysticism and opium dens, but OMG this is the 20th 21st century. Get a grip guys. We will not sort out the problems of our age by using outdated and erroneous symbolism.

Rant over.

Hope everybody had a good day - despite the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.