Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

My new toy!

This one will fit in my pocket (unlike like this one)

And this one will NOT be getting wet. (Unlike this one

But this one will fill the gap between my Olympus TG-1 and Sophie's big ol' Canon 550D!

I treated my self to an early 30th present, and got an Olympus SH-50. To be perfectly honest, the biggest draw for me was the protrusion on the front - a handy 24x optical zoom, and with all the settings for ISO, aperture and shutter speed I'd expect on the big DSLRs, but with the added perk of being able to see the effect of all my blind twiddling on the screen before I take the photo!

It's also got some nifty features such as a touch screen so you can poke the bit of the photo you want to focus on, and also get it to take the photo while you're there. This also helps to tidy up the back of the camera with only essential buttons present, to give it a nice clean look.

Plus you can take photos while recording video! How much use these bits will be, time will tell.

But so far, so good - I'm pleasantly impressed, although there are only so many photos you can take of dinner before you get a bit repetitive... Still - I'm going to Wembley later this month to see the NFL, so hope to get some nice close-up action photos to show off and amaze with!

Watch this (sparsely populated) space...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.