Kellygirl

By Kellygirl

Please meet Jester

This is my jester. I don't know much about the history of the jester but I've read that he was typically an elusive character.. a fool, buffoon, or clown.

According to my online research, the jester was an historical entertainer either employed to entertain a ruler or other nobility in medieval or Tudor times.

The modern usage of jester is "buffoon"

Originally the term was used to describe a ridiculous but amusing person. The term is now frequently used in a derogatory sense to describe someone considered foolish, or someone displaying inappropriately vulgar, bumbling or ridiculous behavior that is a source of general amusement.

I think perhaps some modern day comedians fit the description of buffoon but I will suggest no names. I don't want to call anyone a buffoon.. maybe a fool but not a buffoon. It just doesn't sound very nice. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.