A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Baby Nursery

Nikki is a high-style kind of girl. She always was, even when she was little. She also has strong opinions. I like that about her. Nikki is my baby. She was born on a lovely Southern California evening in February, 1981. She was no trouble at all, until after she was born =). And even then the trouble she caused seemed only to endear me to her more. Children are like that, aren't they? I just love the fact that I find my children to be full of wisdom. I respect them both. For those of you who's children are small, look for this in your children, won't you? I know it seems difficult because they rely on you for nearly everything, but I think it might be one of the key elements to parenting good people. I mean, for raising good people. Oh never mind, I have no idea how to parent, so listen not to me, only listen to your heart.

When the painting of the baby nursery fell upon me, I could only cheerily agree. It's what we do, right? But why, oh why, could she not have chosen a simple paint scheme, like blue or pink walls. Period. No, in all her high-style she has chosen:

sophisticated taupe on the lower portion of the walls
dark brown horizontal wide stripe along ceiling
narrow white horizontal borders

The first two phases are what you see here, plus the bonus of my little grandbaby...see her there on the left??? The final phase will be a bright fuchsia (pink) within the white border seen here.

Each phase requires a couple weeks of dry time in between, in order to tape again, for only the highest-style accuracy (straight lines). For those of you who are not in-the-know, painter's tape will stick to, and pull off, fresh paint, ugh...

AND if the little baby girl, due in November, turns out to be a boy, all we have to repaint is the one stripe of fuschia...the high-style design will also go well with blue if need be. I respect that my daughter has strong opinions, I really do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.