Tadpoleview

By tadpoleview

Changing Colours

When we bought this chrysanthemum plant, and indeed last week before we went off for 5 days, it was a mass of bright yellow flowers and seemed to be getting even more so each week.
Today we noticed that most of it was turning a pinkish colour - is this the arrival of autumn? Is it a sign that its all about to die off? Is it a sign that its thirsty? Did someone pour red die into the watering can? So many questions, to which we don't have the answers. These may be trivial, but many questions are not.

Last weekend when we were looking after the grandchildren there were many questions too. Things like "What's for dinner?", "Where are we going after lunch?", "What are we having for lunch?", "What time will Mummy & Daddy be back?" and so on. To many of them we had to reply "Wait and see". One of them said at one point, "but I don't like wait and see - I want to know".

How often do we want to know the answers to questions that usually have no immediate answer! Either because we cannot find the right person to ask, but probably more often because there are just too many possibilities or unknowns that could radically change the answer.

I guess that is where faith plays a big part. I can say to my own questions, "I don't know the answer, but I have a God who does and in whom I can trust".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.